





Plenary meeting of the LXVII COSAC

3-5 March 2022, National Assembly, Palais Bourbon, Paris

Programme

(version of 3 March 2022)

Meeting time zone: CET

THURSDAY 3 MARCH 2022

2pm – 7pm Arrival of delegations and hotel check-in

Meeting of the Presidential Troika		
5:30pm	Departure of Troika members from their hotels	
6pm	Meeting of the Presidential Troika (European Affairs Committee conference room 33, rue Saint-Dominique, 3 rd floor)	
7pm	Departure of Troika members for dinner	

7pm Departure of other participants for dinner

7:30pm Dinner at the Senate, Palais du Luxembourg, in the

presence of **Mr. Gérard LARCHER**, President of the Senate **and Ms Laetitia SAINT-PAUL**, Vice-President of the National Assembly. (address: 15 ter rue de Vaugirard, 75006 Paris)

10pm Return to hotels

FRIDAY 4 MARCH 2022

(address: National Assembly, Palais Bourbon, 126 rue de l'Université, 75007 Paris)

Meetings of political groups

7:30am Departure from hotels for the Palais Bourbon

8am – 8:40am Meetings of political groups

(1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th offices, 1st floor of the Palais

Bourbon)

8am Departure from hotels for the Palais Bourbon

9am - 9:10am

Opening of the LXVII COSAC

(Venue: hemicycle)

Welcome address by **Ms Laetitia SAINT-PAUL**, Vice-President of the French National Assembly

Adoption of the agenda

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

9:10am - 10:20am Session I - First assessment of France's Presidency of

the Council of the European Union

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European

Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

• Speaker: Mr. Jean CASTEX, Prime Minister of France

Debate

10:20am – 11:00am Procedural issues and any other business

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European

Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

Introductions:

- Ms. Sabine THILLAYE, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly
- Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs
- Presentation of the results of the meeting of the Presidential Troika of COSAC
- Presentation of the 37th Bi-Annual Report of COSAC
- Letters received by the Presidency
- Any other business

11am – 11:30am Group photo (Court of honour, Bronze door)

Coffee break (Salle des fêtes)

11:30am – 1pm Session II – Recovery plan for Europe and end of

crisis

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National

Assembly)

 Introduction by Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs

 Speakers: Mr. Othmar KARAS, First Vice-President of the European Parliament, Mr. Ivan STEFANEC, President of SME Europe (Small and medium sized enterprises Europe) and Mr. Daniel GROS, Distinguished Fellow and Member of the Board of CEPS (Centre for European Policy Studies)

Debate

1:30pm – 3pm Lunch at the Hôtel de Poulpry, Maison des Polytechniciens,

(address: 12 rue de Poitiers)

3:30pm – 5pm Session III – Climate change and energy transition

(chaired by Mr. Jean-François Rapin, Chair of the Senate

Committee for European Affairs)

 Introduction by Ms. Sabine THILLAYE, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly

 Speakers: Mr. Werner HOYER, President of the European Investment Bank, Mr. Pierre GATTAZ, President of Business Europe, and Mr. Christian GOLLIER, Director General of Toulouse School of Economics and visiting professor at the Collège de France

Debate

5pm Tour of the Palais Bourbon *(optional)*

From 5pm Return to hotels

7pm Departure from hotels to dinner

7:30pm Dinner at the Quai d'Orsay, Ministry for Europe and Foreign

Affairs for <u>parliamentarians</u> (address: 37 quai d'Orsay, 75007 Paris) and at the parliamentary restaurant of the Nationale Assembly for the <u>staff</u> (address: 101, rue de l'Université 75007

Paris, 8th floor)1

10pm Return to hotels

SATURDAY 5 MARCH 2022

8am Departure from hotels to the Palais Bourbon

9am – 10:30am Session IV – Conference on the Future of Europe

(chaired by Ms. Sabine Thillaye, Chair of the European

Affairs Committee of the National Assembly)

- Introduction by Mr. Jean-François RAPIN, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs
- Video message from Ms. Ursula VON DER LEYEN, President of the European Commission
- Speakers: Mr. Guy VERHOFSTADT, Member of the European Parliament, co-chair of the executive council, and Ms. Dubravka ŠUICA, Vice-President of the European Commission for Democracy and Demography, co-chairwoman of the executive council
- Debate

10:30am – 11am Coffee break

¹ Due to the distant rules imposed by the health situation, the dinner will take place in two different places for the parliamentarians and the accompanying staff.

11am – 11:15am Session V – Progress reports from the working groups (chaired by Mr. Jean-François Rapin, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs)

• Speakers: **Ms. Sabine THILLAYE**, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly, and **Mr. Jean-François RAPIN**, Chair of the Senate Committee for European Affairs

11:15am – 12:15pm Session VI – Debate on Ukraine
(chaired by Mr. Jean-François Rapin, Chair of the Senate
Committee for European Affairs)

• Introduction by **Ms. Sabine THILLAYE**, Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the National Assembly.

12:15pm	Closing session
12:45pm	Lunch at the parliamentary restaurant of the National Assembly (address: 101 rue de l'Université, 75007 Paris – 7 th and 8 th floor)
From 2:00pm	Return to hotels