



INTER-PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE

"CONTRIBUTION OF NATIONAL PARLIAMENTS TO IMPROVING THE COMMON AGRICULTURAL POLICY"

Monday, 25 September 2023, Zagreb, Croatian Parliament

Sunday, 24 September 2023

...... Arrival of participants to the Hotel International

15.00 – 20.00 Accreditation of participants

Hotel International, Lobby

19.00 – 21.00 Buffet dinner

Synergy Hall, Hotel International

Monday, 25 September 2023

08:45 Transfer from the Hotel International to the Croatian Parliament

9:00 – 9.30 Accreditation of participants

Croatian Parliament

9:30 – 9:50 Opening of the Conference

Welcoming address:

- Marijana Petir, Chairwoman of the Agriculture Committee, Croatian Parliament

Opening of the Conference:

- **Janusz Wojciechowski**, European Commissioner for Agriculture (video message)
- Gordan Jandroković, Speaker of the Croatian Parliament

9:50 – 11:40 CHALLENGES AND OPPORTUNITIES OF THE COMMON AGRICULTURAL POLICY

Keynote speeches:

- Marija Vučković, Croatian Minister of Agriculture
- **Norbert Lins**, Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Parliament





- Wolfgang Burtscher, Director-General at Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Commission

Panel discussion:

- **Emma Nohrén**, Chairwoman of the Committee on Environment and Agriculture, Sweden
- **Michal Kučera**, Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture, Chamber of Deputies, Czech Republic
- João Miguel Maçarico Nicolau, Member of Parliament, Portugal
- Mladen Jakopović, Vice-President of COPA COGECA
- **Vedran Stapić**, President of the Croatian Agrarian Journalists Association and Head of Communications of the European Network of Agrarian Journalists (ENAJ)
- **Ivica Kisić**, Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture, University of Zagreb

Debate:

- Representatives of national parliaments – presenting positions

Final considerations

- Wolfgang Burtscher, Director-General at Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Commission

11:40 – 12:00 Family Photo Coffee Break

12:00 – 13:00 DECLARATION ON GMO-FREE ALPS-ADRIATIC-DANUBE REGION AND REVIEW OF THE PROPOSALS FOR NEW REGULATIONS CONCERNING PLANTS OBTAINED BY NEW GENOMIC TECHNIQUES AND THE PRODUCTION AND MARKETING OF PLANT REPRODUCTIVE MATERIAL

Keynote speeches:

- **Marijana Petir**, Chairwoman of the Agriculture Committee, Croatian Parliament
- Sándor Font, Committee on Agriculture, Hungary
- Darja Sokolić, Executive Director of the Croatian Agency for Agriculture and Food





Panel discussion:

- **Norbert Lins**, Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Parliament
- **Silvia Kolar Fodor**, President of the association "Biogarden in harmony with nature"
- David Pejić, best European organic young farmer 2022

Debate:

- Representatives of national parliaments – presenting positions

Final considerations

- Wolfgang Burtscher, Director-General at Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Commission

13:00 – 13:50 NATIONAL PARLIAMENTS' INITIATIVES

National parliaments' representatives present the initiatives submitted to the European Commission

Keynote speeches:

- **Jenna Simula**, Chairwoman of the Agriculture and Forestry Committee, Finland
- **Gavriel Yiannakis**, Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources, Cyprus

Panel discussion:

- Katya De Giovanni, Member of Parliament, Malta
- Jorge Martínez, Member of Parliament, Senate, Spain
- **Ružica Vukovac**, Deputy Chairwoman of the Agriculture Committee, Croatian Parliament
- **Krunoslav Zmaić,** Dean, Faculty of Agrobiotechnical Sciences Osijek, University of Josip Juraj Strossmayer in Osijek

Debate:

- Representatives of national parliaments presenting positions
- Wolfgang Burtscher, Director-General at Directorate-General for Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Commission – political dialogue as a tool for taking part in European decision-making





13:50 – 14:00 FINAL CONSIDERATIONS AND CLOSING OF THE CONFERENCE:

- **Norbert Lins**, Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development of the European Parliament
- **Marijana Petir**, Chairwoman of the Agriculture Committee, Croatian Parliament

14:00 – 15:00 Lunch

"Josip Jelačić" Hall, Croatian Parliament

15:15 Departure of participants from the Croatian Parliament to the

Hotel International