EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY WEEK 2022

15-16 MARCH 2022

EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT BRUSSELS



EU ECONOMIC GOVERNANCE FROM A PARLIAMENTARY PERSPECTIVE

CO-ORGANISED:

by the European Parliament and the National Assembly and the Senate of France

European Parliament National Parliaments





Tuesday

15 March 2022

Times indicated below are in CET

9.30 - 14.15

Political group meetings:

S&D

11.30 - 12.30,

Meeting room TBC

ID

11.30 - 12.30.

Meeting room TBC

RENEW

12.00 - 13.00.

Meeting room TBC

Inter-parliamentary Conference on Stability, Economic Coordination and Governance in the European Union

14.30 - 14.45

Welcoming words:

Meeting room: Spaak 1A002 + web-streaming

Roberta METSOLA, President of the European Parliament

Richard FERRAND (TBC), Speaker of the French National Assembly

Gérard LARCHER, Speaker of the French Senate

14.45 - 16.15

Plenary: EU own resources

Meeting room: Spaak 1A002 + web-streaming

Co-chaired by: **Dita CHARANZOVÁ**, Vice-President of the EP, **Éric WOERTH**, Chair of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly and **Claude RAYNAL**, Chair of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

Introductory remarks by:

Johannes HAHN, Commissioner for budget and administration

Alain LAMASSOURE, former Chair of the Committee on Budgets of the European Parliament and Member

of the Inter-institutional High Level Group on Own Resources

Exchange of views among Members of National Parliaments and Members of the European Parliament.

16.15 – 16.45

Break

16.45 – 18.45

Plenary: Reform of the Stability and Growth Pact

Meeting room: Spaak 1A002 + web-streaming

Co-chaired by: **Othmar KARAS**, First Vice-President of the EP, **Éric WOERTH**, Chair of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly and **Claude RAYNAL**, Chair of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

Introductory remarks by:

Valdis DOMBROVSKIS, Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People

Paolo GENTILONI, Commissioner for economy

Laurent SAINT-MARTIN, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly

Jean-François HUSSON, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

Wednesday

16 March 2022

Times indicated below are in CET

High-Level Conference on the Recovery and Resilience Facility: Lessons for the future

09.00 – 11.00

Session 1

Meeting room: Spaak 1A002 + web-streaming

Co-chaired by Johan VAN OVERTVELDT, Chair of the Committee on Budgets, Irene TINAGLI, Chair of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, Laurent SAINT-MARTIN, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly, Jean-François HUSSON, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

Key note speech by:

Bruno LE MAIRE, President of ECOFIN (TBC) **Antonio COSTA**, Prime Minister of Portugal **Karl NEHAMMER**, Prime Minister of Austria (TBC)

Panel:

Laurent SAINT-MARTIN, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly Jean-François HUSSON, General rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

EP Rapporteurs on the Recovery and Resilience Facility:

Siegfried MURESAN (EPP), Eider GARDIAZABAL RUBIAL (S&D), Dragos PÎSLARU (RENEW). Céline GAUER, European Commission (DG RECOVER)

Exchange of views among Members of National Parliaments and Members of the European Parliament.

11.00 – 11.30

Break

11.30 – 13.30

Session 2

Meeting room: Spaak 1A002 + web-streaming

Co-chaired by Johan VAN OVERTVELDT, Chair of the Committee on Budgets, Irene TINAGLI, Chair of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, Laurent SAINT-MARTIN, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Assembly, Jean-François HUSSON, General Rapporteur of the Finance Committee of the French Senate

Key note speech by:

Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS, Prime Minister of Greece

Panel:

Anelia STEFANOVA, Energy Transformation Leader, CEE Bankwatch Network Richard VAN ZWOL, Chair of the Network of EU Independent Fiscal Institutions

TBD, Member of Slovenian Parliament **TBD**, Member of Italian Parliament

Exchange of views among Members of National Parliaments and Members of the European Parliament.

Closing remarks by the co-chairs.